ferret and japanese weasel

Welcome to Weasel World

Let’s make this world a better place for weasels!


Weasels are mammals of the genus Mustela of the family Mustelidae. The genus Mustela includes the least weasel, Mustela nivalis, the long-tailed weasel, Mustela frenata and the stoat or short-tailed weasel, Mustela erminea, as well as the polecats, the ferret and the mink. Together, these, as well as other species in the same family are often referred to as “weasels”. In the UK, the word “weasel” usually refers to the smallest species Mustela nivalis.

Weasels vary in length, but generally, male weasels are larger than females. They have long, slender bodies, which enable them to follow their prey into very narrow spaces. Their tails may be from 34 to 52 mm (1.3 to 2.0 in) long.

The English word “weasel” was originally applied to one of the smaller members of the genus, the least weasel (Mustela nivalis). It is the smallest member of its family in the world, natives of Eurasia, North America and North Africa.

Japanese Weasel

Learn about our feature weasel : the Japanese weasel. Find out about its habitat, diet, characteristic and reproduction.

Body types of Weasels

Mustela nivalis (least weasel)

Mustela frenata (long-tailed weasel)

Mustela erminea (stoat, or short-tailed weasel)

Mustela putorius (polecat)

Mustela furo (ferret)

Mustela vison (mink)

The Weasel Family

The Weasel family is a large one, with many different members inhabiting all sorts of different habitats across the globe. Many people think of weasels as being small, masked creatures that hunt rodents in fields and forests, but there are actually many different types of weasels, ranging in size from the tiny least weasel to the much larger wolverine.

The most common and well-known member of the Weasel family is the long-tailed weasel, which is found throughout the continental United States, Canada, and Mexico. This weasel has a reddish brown coat in the summer and a white coat in the winter. The long-tailed weasel is a skilled hunter, preying on rabbits, rodents, and birds.

European Polecat (mustela putorius)

Another common North American weasel is theshort-tailed weasel, also known as the stoat or ermine. This weasel has a brown coat in the summer, which turns white in the winter (except for the tips of its black tail). The short-tailed weasel is found in wooded areas throughout Canada, the United States, and Mexico. It preys on rabbits, rodents, and birds.

The least weasel is the smallest member of the Weasel family. It has a reddish brown coat and a black-tipped tail. The least weasel is found in the northern United States, Canada, Europe, and Asia. It preys on rodents.

The largest member of the Weasel family is the wolverine. This weasel has a dark brown coat and is found in forested areas of North America, Europe, and Asia. It preys on small mammals

Other Weasels

Least Weasel